Christmas.

I’ve been asking people lately if they are Christmas people. Me? I am. All the way. I love everything about Christmas. I was driving around the other day and I saw several “He’s the reason for the season” banners and signs. You know the ones that I am talking about. Then it hit me. For all of the things that I like about Christmas very few of them actually have anything to do with Christ. So I began to pick apart all of the things that I love about Christmas. I am sure that if you are a Christmas person then your list will be much like the one that I came up with. Anyways here is what I came up with.

Family
Togetherness
Gifts
Lights
Snow
Tradition
Peace
Things just feel ‘right’
Starbucks “Holiday Drinks”
Christmas Movies/Stories
Late nights, talking
Fire
Warmth

Then it hit me that all of these things (possibly excluding Starbucks, although I think that coffee is directly from the throne of heaven) are either elements of the kingdom of God or they are somehow reflective of His nature.

I think that I have long tried to over-“spiritualize” Christmas. Thinking that it should be about prayer and worship and reading something out of one of Gospels on Christmas Eve. Making motions to strike Santa from the Christmas line up along with the tree and the lights . Suggesting that everyone skip the spiced cider and find some candle lit vigil to meditate on the materialzation of heaven with earth that we call the Christ Child, (which I absolutely love by the way). When maybe what Jesus wanted was for us to celebrate and enjoy the good things that he has made possible by his advent. And to love Him for those things. To realize that He is the source for all the good things that Christmas brings about. I think that I have segmented my life with Christ so much when he is really a more holistic saviour. He wants to redeem all of us. Every part of what we do, say, think, and feel. Maybe that means that it is really a spiritual thing to love eggnog by the fire long into the wee hours of Christmas Eve night.

Mabye I am way off. Or maybe none of this makes any sense to anyone else. I am just trying to make sense of this American social phenomenon that we call CHRISTMAS. I know what I think it is. And I know what most people think that I am supposed to think it is. But what is it??

Any thoughts?

~ by dallasbpeters on December 17, 2006.

One Response to “Christmas.”

  1. Your thought process makes perfect sense to me; however, I am willing to take it a step farther. There are symbols found throughout the bible that stand for certain meanings, and I believe there are Christmas symbols as well. Santa Claus is the perfect example; he is a man that can watch our every move all year long. He is known for performing miracles (no one could visit every house in one night without a miracle), and children are known for their strong belief in Santa.

    Now let me show what these symbols mean to me. Jesus does see our every move (good or bad), and he performs miracles that most find hard to believe. Children believe in Santa without having ever seen the North Pole, elves, or eight tiny reindeer that fly. It is the same with Jesus, children are known for their faith because they believe without ever having to see proof.

    “Let the children come to Me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I assure you, anyone who doesn’t have their kind of faith will never get into the Kingdom of God.”
    – Mark 10:14-15 NLT

    Now this may not make any sense to anyone else, but it is something I have observed over the years. I just thought I would throw a bone out there for all to chew on. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
